Friday, September 30, 2016

CD Review: New Debut Albums From Soles Of Passion and The Front End

Country rock duo Steven Wolfe and Myla Snow are releasing their debut album "Bump Me Up" under the moniker Soles Of Passion. The new eight-song release begins with the up-beat rhythm of "Hold On" as Myla's vocals give the song an uplifting feel with her wonderful harmonizing. They deliver the pop tones of the title song, "Bump Me Up," while Steven's guitar work keeps country. They continue the energy flowing with the guitar boogie shuffle of "Got Me Surrounded," before finishing with the with the power ballad "Paris" and the built-up rhythmic rocker "Feels Good." To find out more about Soles Of Passion and their latest release "Bump Me Up," please visit
Up next, from Allentown, PA comes the debut release from The Front End. Their new release titled "Growing Pains" features four songs and only three members. Their music has a raw, punk-like energy with a soulful of grunge as displayed in the album's opening track "Mandingo." They work up the chorus of "Uncle Tony" to deliver a powerful sound and lock into the addictive groove of "Toes In The Sand," before finishing up this short release with the modern alternative rock appeal of "Missed Connections." To find out more about The Front End and their latest release "Growing Pains," please visit their Facebook page at

Thursday, September 29, 2016

CD Review: New Music From Singer/Songwriters Carey Ott And Fernando Perdomo

From Nashville comes the latest release from singer/songwriter Carey Ott titled "Nocona." The album features guest appearances from friends like Will Kimbrough and Lincoln Parish (Cage The Elephant). The new ten-song release begins with the title-song "Nocona (High Hangin' On A Limb)" as the song's smooth, folk-rock groove easily becomes very addictive. Then Carey delivers a Springsteen-style rocker with the sing-along chorus of "'Til The Well Runs Dry" and the stomp rhythm of "Through The Waves." His song "Cosmic Joke" sounds like a jam that hit all the right chords and then he lifts your spirits with the up-beat, dance/pop of "Favorite Song." The album closes with the alternative country feel of "Flash Fires" and the acoustic folk strumming of "We Are A Circle." To find out more about Carey Ott and his latest release "Nocona," please visit

From Los Angeles comes the new album "Voyeurs" from singer/songwriter/producer Fernando Perdomo. It features seventeen songs, which were recorded in front of live audience and were streamed on Facebook. Beginning with the acoustic, folk/rock delivery of "The One You Run To," Fernando mirrors Ray Davies-style of delivering the lyrics, accentuating each word. The floating melody of "Hiding Under Clouds" and the wonderful Pink Floydian feel of "Angel" showcases Fernando's talents of finding the right instruments to strike the perfect emotion. He gives "In A World Without You" a Beatlesque tone, before displaying his sixties influences on the upbeat, pop/rock of "Stay With The Friends." Just past the halfway mark of the album you get the warm, emotional acoustic ballad, "Home," and the rest of the album is filled with progressive rock-like instrumentals as Fernando showcases more of his musical talents. To find out more about Fernando Perdomo and his latest release "Voyeurs," please visit

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

On The Record - Music: Robert Obie Of The Buttondowns Gives Us Insight To His Nostalgic Sound

Wallingford's own Robert Obie of the music trio The Buttondowns discusses his influences for getting into music, how he creates his nostalgic '60's pop sound and about the possibility of recording a new studio album.

CD Review: The Andy Timmons Band Bring Us To "A Perfect World"

American guitarist Andy Timmons, along with his band, will be releasing their eighth studio album titled "Theme From A Perfect World" on September 30th. It features ten melodic guitar instrumentals that reflect a vintage time with a modern sound. Beginning with "Ascension," you get a sense that the songs could work with or without vocals as Timmons delivers the emotions through his guitar work. The band take you on a journey with the seven-minute enlightenment of "Theme From A Perfect World" and works up the spirit of "The Next Voice You Hear." Then things get rocking with the up-tempo rhythm of "Lift Us Up (Something Wicked This Way Comes)," before slowing down for the clues of "That Day Came." The album finishes with the driven melody of "Welcome Home" and the beautiful guitar work of "On Your Way Sweet Soul." The Andy Timmons Band will hold a CD release show on October 1st in Dallas, TX, before heading out on a month-long U.S. tour. To find out more about their new album "Theme From A Perfect World," please visit

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

CD Review: Marcus Corbett Develops "Every Little Spirit" & Dwiki Dharmanwan Doubles Up "Pasar Klewer"

Guitarist/singer/songwriter Marcus Corbett will be releasing his latest album "Every Little Spirit" in October. He uses his worldwide experiences to give his songs that worldly charm, beginning with the classical Indian charisma of "Strange Deep." The new eight song release features classical English and Indian musicians that give authenticity to the song's spiritual style. The gentle tones of "No Time" allow you to appreciate all of the instrumentation that goes into each song. Marcus showcases his talents for songwriting with the twenty-plus minute, peaceful tones of "Loving Kind (Extended) Pt. I & II." The musical adventure of "Sitting On A Cloud" is appealing as you mind follows the melody takes you along a musical landscape. To find out more about Marcus Corbett and his latest release "Every Little Spirit," please visit 

Indonesian keyboard virtuoso Dwiki Dharmawan recently released his latest double album titled "Pasar Klewer." This exciting set allows Dwiki to expand his sound since his Moonjune Records debut last year. Beginning with the twelve-minute titled song, "Pasar Klewer," Dwiki and guitarist Mark Wingfield trade licks early as the tone of the song switches between progressive rock and jazz. Clarinetist Gilad Atzmon leads the way on "Spirit Of Peace" before the swift keyboards of Dwiki quicken the pace. Vocalist Boris Savoldelli lends his voice to the flowing soundscape of "Forest" and to the experimental jazz piece of "London In June." 

The second disc begins with Peni Candra Rini lending her vocal talents to the operatic jazz fusion of "Lir Ilir," before Dwiki Dharmawan's beautiful piano work on the enlightening delivery of "Bubuy Bulan." The ninety-plus minute set closes with Gilad Atzmon returning with his soprano sax on the classic jazz feel of "Frog Dance" and the eight-minute return of "Forest," which features more guitar work or Mark Wingfield. To find out more about Dwiki Dharmawan and his latest release "Pasar Klewer," please visit